New Faculty Orientation



Joanna L. Ho September 22, 2021



The University of California

- It is governed by a Board of Regents with authority granted by the Constitution of the State of California.
 - Article IX, Section 9: "The University of California shall constitute a public trust, to be administered by the existing corporation known as "The Regents of the University of California," with **full powers** of organization and government...."
- "The university shall be **entirely independent of** all political or sectarian influence and kept free therefrom in the appointment of its regents and in the administration of its affairs...."
- The Officers of the University and the Academic Senate.



Delegated Authority

- Admission and degrees.
- Courses and curricula.
- The membership of faculties and councils.
- Selects committees to advise the Chancellor concerning the campus budget and to advise the President concerning the University budget.
- Lays before the Board of Regents, through the President, its views on any matter pertaining to the conduct and welfare of the University.
- Advises the President and the Chancellors concerning the administration of the libraries of the University.
- Approves the publication of manuscripts by the University of California Press.

UCI

UC Irvine Academic Senate Councils & Committees

Councils

- Council on Academic Personnel (CAP)
- Council on Educational Policy (CEP)
- Council on Enrollment Management and Admissions (CEMA)
- Council on Equity and Inclusion (CEI)
- Council on Faculty Welfare, Diversity, and Academic Freedom (CFW)
- · Council on Planning and Budget (CPB)
- Council on Research, Computing, and Libraries (CORCL)
- Council on Teaching, Learning, and Student Experience (CTLSE)
- Graduate Council (GC)

Committees

- Committee on Committees (COC)
- Committee on Privilege and Tenure (CPT)
- Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction (CRJ)
- Committee on Scholarly Honors and Awards (SHA)

UCI

UC Irvine Academic Senate Councils & Committees

Boards

- Academic Integrity Review Board (AIRB) a subcommittee of CTLSE
- Academic Program Review Board (APRB) a subcommittee of CEP & GC
- Board on Undergraduate Scholarships, Honors & Financial Aids (BUSHFA) a subcommittee of CTLSE
- Campuswide Honors Collegium Board (CHCB) a subcommittee of CTLSE

Subcommittees

- Subcommittee on Courses & Continuing, Part-Time, & Summer Session
 Education (SCOC) –
 a subcommittee of CEP
- Subcommittee on International Education (SCIE) a subcommittee of CEP & GC
- Policy and Assessment Subcommittee (SCPA) a subcommittee of CEP
- Subcommittee on Computing (SubComp) a subcommittee of CORCL

Special Committees

Grad Council/CPB Subcommittee on SSGPDP Third Year Review (SSGPDP)

UCI

UC Irvine Academic Senate

Divisional Senate Assembly

The Divisional Senate Assembly is the highest authority in the Divisional Academic Senate.

Ex Officio Members:

UC President Michael Drake

Joanna Ho, Divisional Chair Georg Striedter, Divisional Chair Elect

<u>Parliamentarian:</u> Dan Hirschberg

Elected Members:

Council Chairs (9)

Faculty Executive Committee Chairs (12) School/College Representatives (36)

Divisional Representatives to Systemwide Assembly (4)

Faculty Executive Committees

Senate Cabinet

The Senate Cabinet advises and works with the Divisional Chair in administering the rules and regulations prescribed by the Irvine Division, and in coordinating and managing Senate activities.

Members:

Chair Joanna Ho

Chair Elect Georg Striedter

Council on Academic Personnel (CAP) Chair Lisa Naugle

Council on Educational Policy (CEP) Chair Melanie Cocco

Council on Equity and Inclusion (CEI) Chair Jane Stoever

Council on Faculty Welfare, Diversity, and Academic Freedom (CFW) Chair Terry Dalton

Council on Planning and Budget (CPB) Chair Alyssa Brewer

Council on Research, Computing, and Libraries (CORCL) Chair Michele Guindani

Council on Teaching, Learning, and Student Experience (CTLSE) Chair Ian Straughn

Council on Enrollment Management and Admissions (CEMA) Chair Sergio Gago-Masague

Graduate Council (GC) Chair Arvind Raiaraman

Councils, Committees, Boards, and Subcommittees

Senate Staff

Executive Director
Kate Brigman

Associate Director Gina Anzivino

Operations Manager Rachel Mangold

Senate Analysts

Christine Aguilar

Malcolm Bourne

Michelle Chen

Julie Kennedy

Casey Lough

Thao Nguyen

UC Systemwide Academic Senate

Systemwide Assembly

The Systemwide Assembly is the highest authority in the UC Academic Senate.

UCI Reps:

Joanna Ho, Divisional Chair

Michael Cooper

Elliott Currie

Naomi Morrissette

Bonnie Ruberg

Academic Council

The Academic Council serves as the Executive Committee of the Assembly. Members include the Chair & Vice Chair of the Systemwide Senate, Divisional Senate Chairs, and Chairs of some Systemwide Committees.

UCI Rep:

Joanna Ho, Divisional Chair

Senate Divisions

Berkeley

Davis

Irvine

Los Angeles

Merced

Riverside

San Diego

San Francisco

Santa Barbara

Santa Cruz

UC Senate Standing Committees

Academic Computing and Communications

Academic Freedom

Academic Personnel*

Admissions and Relations with Schools*

Affirmative Action, Diversity, and Equity*

Committees

Editorial

Educational Policy*

Faculty Welfare*

Graduate Affairs*

International Education

Intersegmental Committee

Lab Issues

Library & Scholarly Communication

Planning and Budget*

Preparatory Education

Privilege and Tenure

Research Policy*

Rules and Jurisdiction

*Committee Chairs are Academic Council Members

Divisional Council Chairs typically serve on the corresponding Systemwide Standing Committee.



Senate contacts

- Joanna L. Ho, Chair
- chair@uci.edu
- Kate Brigman, Executive Director
- <u>kate.brigman@uci.edu</u>
- Senate Website: senate.uci.edu